Wedding Etiquette Forum

check from a guest bounced!

just found out that one of our guests checks bounced. it was a wedding gift from my cousin - he brought a guest and gave us a check for $50 with a note that said "please dont' cash it until Aug 27".  we didnt cash it until Sept 7..... it bounced and we were charged $12. 

I think the right thing for my cousin to do is send a new check and replace the fee.

I am inclined to let it go since I am all about avoiding confrontation and it is an awkward situation and only $12. but if I dont email my cousin about it, my husband will. If anyone is emailing my cousin, I think it should be me since he's from my side of the family, but I'm not good with this kind of thing - not sure what to say in the email.  Can you help?

Re: check from a guest bounced!

• Let it go.

You wanted him at your wedding enough that it was ok with you that he brought a guest.

No one has to give you a gift at all.

If his check bounced, he also got hit with a fee and if he's had a lot of checks bounce he's had lots of fees.  Be a true family member and let it go, he doesn't need you giving him grief.

Do you need the money that badly that you'd cause him extra stress right now?
  • Yeah that's fairly awkward and I wouldn't say anything.  And to be honest, even though you told us on an anonymous board, I wouldn't mention this to my parents or anyone besides me and the FI.
  • Why didn't you cash it on the 27th? You waited more than whole week! LOL!!

I would just let it go. I have a guest that is coming who has written a check to my sister that bounced. She said "Don't cash the check if they give you one." Too funny yet very sad!
    And the whole time, my future husband was in the room...... image image
  • Let it go.

Please tell me you already sent him the TY note anyway though.   And tell your husband to pipe down.