Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

Designing my own photo album

My problem is this:

I know that photo albums can be very expensive when ordered through your photographer, but I also know that a lot of what you're paying for is the design time that the photographer puts in. Since everything is digital now, photographers are leaning toward the new, trendy way of collaging all the photos in an album.. with photos stacked on the page, some shaded back, etc. In addition to me really not liking that type of look, I'm a graphic designer, so I feel like I don't want to pay someone else to do what I do for a living.

Any other designers out there know of a website I can go through to order a book that I layout? Most sites I've found are either template-based for novices or limited to professional photographers--nothing in-between. I'd like the quality of the books that photographers order, but I just want to be able to design it myself.

Thanks in advance....

Re: Designing my own photo album

• edited December 2011