Texas-Dallas and Ft. Worth

Sunstone Yoga- good for weight loss goals?

Hi ladies! 

I just joined Sunstone for their 30 days for $30 deal.I have always been pretty active, but this is my FIRST time trying yoga EVER, and boy was I sweatin' after my first class today! 

I am already eating properly and following a reduced calorie diet, along with LOTS of water, and am trying to lose about 15 lbs before my wedding in July (so preferably by April or so). I also have a gym membership and have started running, doing some light weight lifting, etc. 

Do you all know if going to yoga classes, specifically the hot yoga classes, are going to assist me with fat/weight loss? Honest opinions here! :) 

Thanks! 

Re: Sunstone Yoga- good for weight loss goals?

• BanannaPBanannaP member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    The only way to lose weight is to burn more calories than you consume. While I've never done yoga, my understanding is that it doesn't really burn a lot of calories, especially compared to, say, running or kickboxing. That being said, one way to improve your calorie burn is to build more muscle, as muscle burns more calories than fat. Also, improving your balance will always make your workouts better and prevent injury. 

BTW, I'm not a personal trainer or anything, this all comes from what I've been taught about fitness and losing weight.
  • sarathirzasarathirza member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    i agree with pp - i don't know that yoga alone will help you lose weight, but combined with everything else you're doing, it should help with flexibility and balance.  you can check out dailyplate.com and see how many calories certain exercises burn (who knew tennis burns like 700 calories/hour?!)
  • sosie&fangmansosie&fangman member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011