Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

A little surprised!!!

So I just started planning my own wedding, and joined The Knot. I plugged in my budget, and was really shocked to see how little they suggested paying the wedding photographer!!

I'm a wedding photographer myself, and it was really upsetting to see that for a 25k budget, only 1500 is suggested for the photographer. I mean, the photos are the one thing that live on for years and years after the wedding, and I spend most of my days helping brides get through their special day as best as I can. 

It's got me wondering though- did you take the recommendation of the knot's budget planning sheet, or did you set your own budget? I'd love to get some feedback! 

Thanks everyone!

Re: A little surprised!!!

• edited December 2011
    That surprised us too....  but I agree - pictures are THE important part of your /our wedding!  {Minus being married and such!}  We too have a $25k budget - but we always knew we'd be spending at LEAST $3k for a photog.  We do want the best!!
  • edited December 2011
    I honestly find that a bit on the low side myself. I personally did not use a budget planning sheet where it worked off percentages like 1% for cake, 2% for floral, ect. I did a lot of comparison shopping by looking into a few different vendors for each facet of the wedding and comparing what we got for what they were charging. So our budget formed off of the going rates for those services in our area.
    "If wine is getting in the way of your work, get rid of the work."
    Updated Bio
    E-mail Me!
  • edited December 2011