Snarky Brides

Woman fired from job for crime committed 40 years ago

http://bottomline.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/05/07/11578176-wells-fargo-fires-employee-for-72-shoplifting-conviction?lite

CN: A woman who has worked at Wells Fargo for 5 years was just fired for a crime she committed in the 70s.  She did the time for it.  They're claiming they are bound by a federal law to not hire/continue to employ people who have a criminal record that includes dishonesty or breach of trust.

WI is an at-will state, so they could have fired her for no reason at all (and honestly that might have been a better idea because now she might turn around and sue).  However, if they didn't run a proper background check when they hired her FIVE years ago, I think that's on them.  I'm not a lawyer, but I didn't realize there were federal laws about hiring people who have committed crimes.  There are people out there who have commited crimes in the past but now hold jobs.

WDYT?

Re: Woman fired from job for crime committed 40 years ago

• It does stink that it has come up after so long, and I see your point about them doing the background check when she was first hired.  It does make me wonder - Did she list it on her application?  If no, it leads me to believe that she was purposely not providing the information, and that alone can cause someone to lose their job.  They do say that it is a federally regulated law that prohibits them from employing someone with her background so I don't know that she would have much to stand on in court. 

imageVacation
  • I can't open the link, but does it say whether she lied on application about the crime?
    AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers
    "Halloween may have loose women scantily clad...
    But Christmas has a pregnant virgin.

Way cooler." - anna.oskar
  • If she lied about it on her application then she should be fired. (I didn't read the article). 
    imageBabyFruit Ticker
  • ErinG93ErinG93 member
    First Comment