New York-Hudson Valley

Newly engaged-Need help!

Hi like most I suppose, I am new to this whole wedding planning process.

I dont know where to even begin. I guess the best place to start would be the venue??

Can anyone offer me some recommendations for good venues in the husdon valley area?

Much appreciated!!

Thanks,

Brooke

Re: Newly engaged-Need help!

• BellaSposa223BellaSposa223 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Hi Brooke,

Start with a guest list and budget so you figure out what you can afford before jumping onto venues. It'll save you time, promise.

Jaimie
  • edited December 2011
    Hi! Congrats and welcome!

Weddings can be overwhelming!

First things you have to decide:

the total budget (and who is contributing)

the number of people you expect to have

how much are you willing to pay per person at the venue

also where do you plan on having the ceremony - church, at the venue, at a park? 

and finally, what type of venue do you (and FI) envision?

Then we can all help!

(Also, since you are from New Jersey, are you open to the entire Hudson Valley, or do you want to stay close to Rockland?)

Let us know!
  • edited December 2011
    Jaimie - just realized we must have been typing at the same time!
  • edited December 2011
    Congrats! I think guest list and budget should be first then the venue.
    Part of That World Blog
    my read shelf:Jennifer (JSweetieXO) Cepero's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Meliss5178Meliss5178 member
    edited December 2011
    I agree with PP- # of guests and budget are the biggest factors to consider before looking at venues. They will narrow down the venues that are able to accomodate you. So make that guest list and crunch the #'s!

(for example, some venues will be too small or your guest list, or have too high of a minimum # of guests, too expensive, etc.)