Catholic Weddings

Just Starting Out...Needing Some Help!!!

Hi everyone, this is my first time coming to this site and obvoiusly my first post here. I'm Catholic and so is my fiance so no worries there....but I have absolutely no idea where to even start planning! :( We are having our wedding next June and I'm having trouble picking colors too. We are getting ready to do our engaged encounter weekend here in the first part of April. I'm looking forward to it, even though I've heard both good and bad.

Can anyone help me to get going? Suggestions? Things to avoid? Comments? I'd really appreciate anything! Thank you!

Re: Just Starting Out...Needing Some Help!!!

• edited December 2011
    We did an alternative to the engaged encounter, however, it gets rave reviews everytime someone posts about it. So, look forward to it. Most brides say that it brought them even closer to their future husbands and was an amazing experience.

As far as your colors and whatnot, I'd highly suggest clicking through the knot's albums of weddings and just look at a little bit of all the color options they show. Be open to a lot of ideas at this point. You over a year out so you've got the advantage. Oh, and don't be "that" bride that HAS to have a theme- the theme is "wedding." LOL.

Also, the knot offers a really good planning guide that breaks down basically what you should be doing 12 months out, 9 months out, etc. You don't have to follow it step-by-step but more of a general guide.

GL and congrats!!!
    Anniversary
  • edited December 2011
    Congratulations!

You've got lots of time, so good for you for starting early! I'd say start with getting your reception site, church, caterer, etc. nailed down if you don't already - since you're getting married in June that's a very busy month (duh).