Wedding Etiquette Forum

Talk to me about waxing

OK so I know this isn't as fun as the post a few below this, and it doesn't involve etiquette, but I have some legit questions and don't really want to ask people who know me.

So the deal is, I starting working as a lawyer a couple months ago, and now instead of waking up to shave my legs I want to sleep the extra 15 or 20 min.  It really does make a difference in my productivity for the day.  That means my skirts are all going to waste in my closet.  I have never waxed anything in my life (though I do tweeze my eyebrows), and I'm wondering - is it worth it? Does it hurt so much that shaving is really better, and I just need to force myself to wake up early?  And most importantly - any tips/kits/advice for doing it at home?  Yes, I'm a lawyer, but I have a mountain of student loan debt, and I'm saving for our honeymoon so I'm trying to do this on a budget, and salons don't fit into that equation very well.  I also have this feeling I might want to jump ship halfway through, and salons require more of a commitment to the first attempt than I'm really willing to make at this time.

Also - waxing vs. sugaring?  Should I use different kinds for different parts (ie: legs, eyebrows, etc)?

TIA
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Talk to me about waxing

• Do you really need to shave your legs every day?? I highly doubt anyone would notice if you skipped a day or two. I've never noticed anyones leg hair. 

I wax my own eyebrows with this kit below. I get them professionally done every 4-6ish months to maintain the shape. 
  • No I don't shave every day, but I always did it 2-3 times a week.  Now it's like... never.  That's probably TMI, but even on the weekends I'm usually travelling or working (or both), and it's just one of those things that I stopped doing once I got busy.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker