Wedding Vows & Ceremony Discussions

Scared about Monday wedding

I'll preface this post by saying that my fiance and I JUST got engaged and have not finalized our wedding date yet. We're only considering and not yet married to a Monday wedding yet (hardy har har, bad pun).

Anyways, one of my fiance's first ideas for our wedding is to have it on the anniversary of our first date (he's good at remembering things like that) which would be April 16, 2012. Only problem is... that's a Monday. Now, I'm a novice at weddings but that already seems problematic.

I'm scared that a lot of guests might not come since the wedding wouldn't on a weekend, so I asked my parents for advice and they gave completely conflicting opinions. My mother said it was a bad idea and that I would only get married on a weekend, my dad liked the sentiment of the date and said that people will work around it (and would also appreciate the opportunity of a long weekend). Also, I'm sure vendor rates would be cheaper too.

So, what do you all think? I personally like the idea of having the wedding on our already-existing anniversary, but would absolutely NOT want to go with that idea if it means that a good amount of our loved ones won't show up.

Re: Scared about Monday wedding

• I didn't vote, because a Monday wedding wouldn't work for me, but if it works for you then I say go for it.

As long as you're ok with a smaller number of people coming, then I think it would be fine.  As a guest, I would be annoyed if I had to use a vacation day in order to go to a wedding.  OOT guests with children would be less likely to come because they wouldn't want to pull kids out of school for a wedding.

Are you anticipating having a traditional evening reception?  Be prepared for guests to leave early, because they'll have to go to work the next day.

If the positives outweigh the negatives, then go with a Monday, but don't pick the date solely because it's a preexisting anniversary. 

• megk8ozmegk8oz member