North Carolina

Just engaged + a few questions =)

Hey ladies!!!

I think I might have posted once on this board, but besides that...I'm new!

I am a kindergarten teacher and my FI is a marketing research analyst.  We are both originally from different parts of NY, but we want to get married in NC where we met at school.

My FI and I both went to Wake Forest and he proposed right next to the chapel last week!  We are beyond excited to start the whole planning process.  How long are all of your engagements???  We want to get married in June, but don't know if it should be this June or June 2012.  We're both visiting family this holiday season where we will be hammering out budget questions and then can hopefully start figuring out a few things.

Any W-S area brides out there?  We're thinking about getting married in Wait Chapel on Wake's campus...but we are not sure about a reception location.  Any suggestions??

Thanks!!

Re: Just engaged + a few questions =)

• edited December 2011
    Congratulations and welcome!

By the time FI and I get married, we'll have been engaged 2 days shy of 13 months. I think that if you can get the church and reception venues (and whatever other vendors are important to you), then you can definitely get married this June. Otherwise, you can wait until 2012. 

Is there any reason why you want to get married in June specifically, Could you maybe push it to August/September to give you just a little more time?

Good luck and keep us updated on what you decide!
  • jgcohnjgcohn member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    We like to spread out events and my b-day is in April, his is in Aug. so June is halfway between.  Also, being a teacher...summers are free for me so I can easily go on a honeymoon then and then if we ever want to take trips on our anniversary in the future, it will be easy for me to go then. 
  • edited December 2011