Snarky Brides

My groom is cheap!!

My fiance and i just set our wedding date for june 2011.  we've been together for 3 years and I know he's a major penny-pincher.  Now that we're starting planning the wedding, everything I suggest for the wedding he automatically shoots it down and thinks it's an extravegance.  (ie: real flowers, string quartet)  I've tried to explain to him I don't need a platnum wedding, however, I want this to be a reflection of us. 
Any suggestions on how to compremise?  I'm getting stressed just from him!!
Thanks!!

Re: My groom is cheap!!

• Personally, I feel that a string quartet wasn't an extravagance.  I'm a music teacher and having live music was extremely important to me. 

I do admit that many groups over charge, so you could look into some local colleges or even high schools that have good programs.  Our quartet was a group of college kids, one of whom I have played shows with in the past and I knew that she was a kickass cellist.  I trusted that her friends were at least as good as she was and that made me happy.

Other than that, I agree with Sarah that doing some research before you really set the budget is a good idea.
    BFP(1) DD1 born 4.17.10 @ 33w5d due to pPROM
    BFP(4) DD2 born 2.14.13 @ 35w5d due to pPROM

Lilypie Third Birthday tickersLilypie Premature Baby tickers
  • Look for music students on craigslist.  I got an acoustic guitarist for really cheap.  
  • Use Excel and make a budget.  I don't think a string quartet=extravagance/platinum wedding.  Make a budget and try to stick to it, but he has to keep in mind that a nice wedding is going to cost some money.  Maybe have one of his married friends talk to him about that. 
  • Even if one item on your list is a little expensive, remember that you can get away with it by cutting corners elsewhere.