African American Weddings

Inviting your boss

A co-worker of mine (who is getting married October 1st) and I were talking weddings and I asked who he is inviting from work. Keep in mind that he has been with the company almost 2 years and I started last October, so roughly 9 months. He told me, he read somewhere that etiquette demands that you invite your boss. He is inviting a few people from work, including his boss and I'm only inviting two people that I'm closest to. I thought about inviting my manager, but I'm still on the fence about it. What did you ladies do or plan on doing?
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Inviting your boss

• edited December 2011
    I am a teacher at a small private school. Inviting my boss would mean inviting her sister (who is the 5th grade teacher and my friend). It would also mean inviting the office lady (who is wonderful) and that would open it up to her best friend the 6th grade teacher. ( I teach 4th). Then how would I look inviting all these folks and not inviting my own classroom assistant. She is wonderful too, but she does not go anywhere without her husband.

So to invite my boss would be to actually just invite the entire school!

So I may be breaking etiquette rules but I plan to invite them to my shower ( I don't care if they bring a gift or not) but I cannot invite them to the wedding.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • edited December 2011
    I don't think your boss should be offended. You have not been there that long.

I'm going to be watching this thread! I feel I'm in a similar situation as @Ksk2012. If I invite one of them I'm going to have to invite ALL of them! I feel really bad because one of them flat out asked me which put me in an awkward spot because I'm still not sure how we are handling coworkers.

I'm not close with my supervisor at all. So all I need is for her to kindly approve my leave for the wedding/honeymoon and that is as much convo we will have about the topic!