Wedding Reception Forum

terrariums as gifts for the wedding guests...

So I love the idea of giving terrariums as gifts to the wedding guests. The terrarium would have some sort of colorful miniature plant combination inside. I work in the environmental field and I think giving a gift that keeps giving would be so nice. Will everyone else like it though??? I'd like to think so, but maybe i'm biased. What do you think? If you don't like the terrarium idea, what do you think could be a good alternative gift? It doesn't have to be environmental in nature, but it does have to be unique! :-) Thanks!!!

Re: terrariums as gifts for the wedding guests...

• You know your guests better than anyone, so if you think they'd like it then go with it.  I'm a huge advocate of giving edible favors. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • No matter how great the favor is - even edible - there are going to be about 20% left at the end of the night. 
  • I'm not a guest at your wedding, but I'd like one.  It would be cool to have a plant I didn't have to water in my office, you know?

But I'd be concerned about the cost.  I don't know your budget, but I can't imagine you'd be able to do them for less than $5-10 each.  That seems like a lot for something that you aren't sure if people will like/want.  
  • I think it's always a pretty big gamble to give favors that will basically become decor in your guests' houses or offices, since people are pretty picky about that kind of thing.  The idea is nice, but I think they probably won't be a hit with everyone. 

Favors are a thank-you gift to your guests, and gifts are generally about what the recipient likes and appreciates, not so much about the giver's preferences. 
    imageWhite Knot Wedding Countdown Ticker