Catholic Weddings

New to board and having church difficulty! -long sorry!

Hey all!  Just introducing myself as I haven't posted before.
 Fiance and I are getting married in december.  Venue is set.  Here is our problem.  I am a vet and work crazy hours.  Fiance lives 5 states away finishing degree.  We both basically live in 2 different states, half time in each.  We are not currently members of a parish because my schedule frequently doesnt allow me to go to church (emergencies and regular work is scheduled on sunday) and the weekends that either of us has off are spent traveling to the other state to visit.   Both of us are from religious families, fiance's family is STRONGLY religious (grandparents walked to church every day until 93 yrs old!!). 

However, we have inquired at a few different parishes near where I live and where the venue is (have only lived here a year).  We have been scorned and rejected flat out and told that we couldnt even think about "talking" about scheduling a ceremony until we were members for at least 6 mos.  WTH!?  I understand their side of things but cmon! we are obviously in extenuating circumstances???  We only have one church left to talk to but I don't know what we are going to do if we are rejected again.  And we can't risk being members without talking about scheduling for 6 mos only to find out "whoops!" someone else already getting married on your date @ your time. Honestly, I know full well I should have scheduled the ceremony first but I personally have not had good luck with the church before and was very hesitant to deal with exactly what I am having to deal with now.   What to do????

Re: New to board and having church difficulty! -long sorry!

• ootmother2ootmother2 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Answer Name Dropper
    edited December 2011