Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

How to fire a photog

I went to school since I was 6 with this girl and have never been close friends but have always been friendly since we share a friend in common. When I posted that I was getting married on fb she contacted me saying " Im not a pro but I am sorta getting started... Give me.a budget and ill do.it.for you cheaper than.cheap if.you.let me use it for.my samples. And we.can.do.pre wedding (engagements) included" so I met up with her and she asked me a bunch of questions about the wedding and then asked me what my budget was. I made the mistake of saying "the most I was planning was $1000 including prints and thats why I've had a hard time finding someone." She responded with "I can do it for $1000 and I'll take 300 pic edit 200 of them and give them to you on a disc and I'll make you a coffee table book and do your engagements all for that price." She has never shot a wedding on her own she has worked under someone else but has no proof of her work and nothing to show me and has been asking me non stop questions about every single detail trying to help me. So here's the major problem...
Our close friends just bought a new camera and said if we paid for half of the new better lense ($125) they would do our pics for us. How do I drop the girl I've known when she has been trying to help me, being on a budget $125 is much better than $1000 with no prints?

Re: How to fire a photog

• Hmm...a better lens for $250.00, that is not a lens capable of shooting a wedding. I would forget them both and look elsewhere.
  • Both sound like they have massive potential for disaster. I would find someone that is not a friend to photograph your wedding for sure. Perhaps look at photo students and newbies on Craigslist. You definitely want someone that actually has ant least some experience photographing a wedding on their own... even if they are just starting out.