South Asian Weddings

Fade or prevent tan lines on darker skin?

I need help!  I'm Indian with a med/dark skin tone and I (dumbly) fell in love with a strapless gown and my wedding is in August.  I figured I woudl just stay out of the sun to prevent tan lines, but the weather just got nice and I'm already having some!  And I want to start running to get in shape, but I'm worried about getting darker!

A few questions:

1) are there any products that will lighten skin (gently) to fade tan lines?  my white skinned friends just spray tanned before their weddings, but I don't want to have to darken everythign to match if I can avoid it.

2) Any ways to prevent tan lines while running?  High SPF sunblock never really works for me (I guess I sweat it off).  My friend suggested a SPF t-shirt.  Do those work?

3) Worst case, I guess I can try to fill them in.  Any sunless tanning products that work on dark skin tones?  I've never used any before and I'm afraid of turning orange!

Thanks!

Re: Fade or prevent tan lines on darker skin?

• edited December 2011
    Wear long sleeves??
    Use a ton of "industrial strength" ;) sunscreen??
    I've got nothing...
  • edited December 2011
    Just want to add that dark skin is absolutely beautiful. So if you get darker, it will be all the more gorgeous.  I wouldn't fret about it. Cool
  • edited December 2011
    I would look into a running path that has a lot of shade.  I run myself and there are parks around me with running trails lined with trees.  It's great when it's windy out too (which can also damage skin)  I've never used an SPF t-shirt but I have heard that they can still show sports bra lines as its worn underneath.
  • yoda718yoda718 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011