Pennsylvania-Philadelphia

Kids & Cell Phones

I see them younger and younger with phones. Discuss.

Re: Kids & Cell Phones

• edited December 2011
    i dont get it. i understand there is a convenience to it, especially for parents, but everyone did survive before the invention of the cellphone. i got my first cellphone when i was 21 and could pay for it myself.
  • ButtonsPepperButtonsPepper member
    Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Disney phone, that has a password where only parents can plug numbers into phone, and only children can call people that are programed = good and safe. You really just never know. Everything else - disagree. What happened to game boy?
  • edited December 2011
    What happened to game boy?Um, wtf does this have to do with kids having cell phones?
  • CA2PABride2BeCA2PABride2Be member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    OMG I'm a preschool teacher and I've had kids come in with cell phones!!  They don't even understand the concept of numbers, yet they have a cell phone for some reason!  And to top it off, I work in Head Start, so most of my parents can't afford to keep their own phone lines open when I need to get  a hold of them - but their 3 & 4yr olds have cell phones. 
    Photobucket
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
    183 image 128 image 55 image 0 image RSVP Date: June 4, 2010
  • ButtonsPepperButtonsPepper member
    Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    13 year old FSIL got the iphone for the apps - the games on it etc. Not because she needed a PDA for work, and the outlook functions are beneficial. I find it rediculous that children have 100+ phone bills monthly, for a 300 dollar gadget. Not to mention, you have no idea what they are doing on there. This takes cell phone's to the extreme, so my bigger problem I suppose, is children with these high tech phones being used for gaming/entertainment.
  • MCH77MCH77 member
    First Anniversary First Comment