Wedding Etiquette Forum

Money Issues

Hi ladies, I'm new to the message board community. I know my son's soon to be wife posts on a month board here. I figured it would be safe to say this here. My son got engaged last year, they set a wedding date and I wanted some of my very close friends at their wedding. They agreed to allow it. My son came to me tonight and my soon to be daughter in law is upset with me. He said that she is upset because I am no longer helping to pay for anything and that it was part of the agreement with inviting a couple of my close friends. I tried explaining to him that parent's are not obligated to pay for any part of the wedding and he shouldn't just expect that I would help. I am on a short budget and work 2 jobs just to pay my own bills. Is there any other way to explain to them that it's not my responsibility to pay?

Re: Money Issues

• In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_etiquette_money-issues-1?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding BoardsForum:9Discussion:4b06c212-2472-4e68-9b2b-9d6961461bd4Post:1a229f2e-c740-4e6f-93da-3d4578e8e76b">Money Issues</a>:
    [QUOTE]Hi ladies, I'm new to the message board community. I know my son's soon to be wife posts on a month board here. I figured it would be safe to say this here. My son got engaged last year, they set a wedding date and I wanted some of my very close friends at their wedding. They agreed to allow it. My son came to me tonight and my soon to be daughter in law is upset with me. He said that she is upset because I am no longer helping to pay for anything and that it was part of the agreement with inviting a couple of my close friends. I tried explaining to him that parent's are not obligated to pay for any part of the wedding and he shouldn't just expect that I would help. I am on a short budget and work 2 jobs just to pay my own bills. Is there any other way to explain to them that it's not my responsibility to pay?