Chit Chat

Ex Smokers

I've been smoking for five years, and I really want to quit. I've tried the Nicorette gum, (it messed up my gums really bad so I had to stop it.) and cold turkey. Neither worked. Any of you ex smokers have any tips?
TIA!

Oh, I don't know if you guys do intro's on this board or not, I usually lurk on etiquette and I know they don't. So if you want to know anything just ask! Laughing Thanks again ladies!
Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Re: Ex Smokers

• xoxobxoxob member
    First Comment
    I just quit, but I have been known to bum a cigarette after a drink or two....
  • A friend of mine is using the patch and it's really working for him. He was a pack a day smoker. When I quit a year and a half ago I had just bought a car and vowed never to smoke in it. Since I did most of my smoking in the car that really helped. I also told my smoker friends that I quit, so they wouldn't bum me any when I was drinking. I have smoked a total of 3 times since I quit:) 
    GL!
  • Yeah, I can imagine I might bum some while drinking.. I think I'm going to try the patch and see if it works for me.

xoxob, I don't mean this at all to be creepy but, I think you're so pretty!

• Chantix gave my FI night TERRORS.  Something fierce.  We decided he needed to quit quitting due to cost of Chantix and side effects :(
    "I reject your reality and substitute my own." "Who doesn't LOVE candy?" Image and video hosting by TinyPic Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • I quit cold turkey.  I had in the past tried the patch, but I have such sensitive skin that I couldn't tolerate it.  I felt like it was burning a hole in my arm and then when I took it off I had a red circle for about two weeks!  I also tried Chantix, but had terrible side effects.  So, cold turkey, and while it sucked, it's working. 
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic

2011 Reading Challenge

Jessica has read 16 books toward her goal of 150 books.
    hide