African American Weddings

Bridesmaid Dresses

Hello All...I am new to this but I have a question and need some opinions from other brides.  I have 11 bridesmaids so as you can imagine its so many different personalities and styles.  Im am debating on allowing my bridesmaids to pick a style that they like in our colors or should I pick one dress and say this is it?!? Has anyone else had this dilemma?

Re: Bridesmaid Dresses

• Panda16Panda16 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I don't really have that dilemma but I think you should have one uniform style considering it's such a huge BP. The way I'm envisioning it, if you ask all the girls to pick their own style, even in your colors, you're gonna get an interesting mix of styles (not in a good way). If it were less girls, I think the different styles would work better.You could have your MOH wear a different style and leave it at that.But that's just my opinion.
  • edited December 2011
    Granted I only have 5 attendants, but they are all wearing gowns that suit their body style in the color scheme of our wedding. One dress will never fit every body shape in your party unless they are all size 4, 6, 8. Let their individuality show. If you did not trust them nor their taste would you have asked them to be in your wedding?
  • edited December 2011
    I would let them choose the style to fit there body type; however, I would limit it to the same color just so it doesn't look too busy with different styles and different colors.Cicy
  • edited December 2011
    I agree with Cicy. Allow them to choose their own dresses just make sure they are by the same designer and the color is the same. I picked 3 dresses from the same designer and let my girl choose a dress that way> Good luck ;)
  • Crook251Crook251 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011