New Jersey

Wedding for under 15K can it be done

Hi my name is Rosa im new to the knot i have answered a few post here and there. I'm planing to get married on 2011. My Fi is 25 am 22 we are college students and full time worker who live in an apt together. No one is really helping us on this and going around to diffrent venues we see how much it is, WOW. Or guest list was 225(fi family is HUGE) we are cutting it down to 100, 150 max but with that being sad i feel like there is no economical places to have something nice and Elegant i went to see the venetian i wanted to cry :(, This tides was okay a lil under in the maitnace department. I'm going to see some place call the grande charlet(has anyone heard of it). Any one have any suggestion on how not to spend the down payment to my home in 6 hours.

Re: Wedding for under 15K can it be done

• melissa82melissa82 member
    5 Love Its First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I wouldn't bother with the Grand Chalet and the owner is the nastiest little man.If you're willing to do a day wedding, you'll probably have a better shot. The venue/catering is usually about 50-60% of your budget, so you're looking at a max of $60pp AFTER tax and tip for 150 people.
  • edited December 2011
    I think it is very easy to spend under 15k.  Off peak days and times can save you lots of money and I don't think you have to risk quality in order to do so.  As long as you budget correctly you can easily pull of a very nice wedding for 15k.

~Declare it..Claim it..It will be!!~
    imageLilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickersimage
    5/9/09: Plans, Pics, F/S 11/10/10: BFP Chart Baby Ds Stuff & Coupons!! WTH has Obama done so far!?
  • edited December 2011
    have a day wedding on a sunday, during the off peak season. also, a brunch may be more budget friendly vs a traditional sitdown/cocktail reception. you can also save a ton on having a dj, diy cp's and invitations. i def think it can be done. gl.