Massachusetts-Boston

NWR: Writing jobs in Boston Area?

As I've mentioned before, my fiance and I live in different states (poo)--he is just starting his surgery residency in Providence; I work as a book editor in NYC. I have a lot of writing experience, and am thinking about moving further into that field. (My other option is to change fields altogether and get my Master's in Social Work.)I know I don't want to do newspaper work--I am really looking for magazine or online editorial work. I also know I don't want anything too medical/technical/business trade-oriented. It seems that everything interesting (to me, ha) is here in Manhattan, though--with the exception of Boston Magazine. Does anyone know of any other lifestyle magazines/websites that are based in Boston? I am sure I'm missing some, though I've been looking.I've also been looking in Providence, but the only lifestyle mag there appears to be Rhode Island Monthly.I may just have to look further into social work--might be for the best!Thanks in advance!

Re: NWR: Writing jobs in Boston Area?

• edited December 2011
    I don't know a lot about the field, but did you check out the Improper Bostonian?
  • edited December 2011
    Oh yes, that is on my list--thanks for the reminder!
  • hapark11hapark11 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Are you looking to get out of the publishing industry altogether?
  • edited December 2011
    My brother (and 99% of my friends) work at Boston Magazine - I could check with him if there are any open positions. It's an... interesting... place to work.
  • edited December 2011
    Hey! I'm thinking maybe/yes--not sure. If I could get a great position in trade editorial, I might stay--but so hard to come by! How is B&N management working out (you're there, right)?
  • hapark11hapark11 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    If you want, send me an email at hapark11 at hotmail.  I don't like to get into too much on these boards :)