Moms and Maids

Does the MOB or Step FOB have to toast?

I am new to all this wedding stuff, and as the mother of the bride, I would like to know if we are expected to give a toast at the rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. I have no problem with it, if that is the norm, but want to be prepared either way.

Re: Does the MOB or Step FOB have to toast?

• morainemommorainemom member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    MOB here (in 15 days!) Some MOBs do.I am not.  I hate speaking in crowds. I am dreading walking up to light the unity candle. My husband is giving a toast at the reception.
  • handfast4mehandfast4me member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I didn't, but some do.  It just didn't feel right to me, so I didn't do it.  However, if the other mom had said a few words, I would have felt obligated. 
    image Don't mess with the old dogs; age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill! BS and brilliance only come with age and experience.
  • TruchanaTruchana member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    No but typically I would say one representative from the family should.  It is usually the brides father, but if you don't think he will cut the mustard or you are footing the bill and want to, then go for it.  Unless the Step FOB is someone your daughter calls father, I wouldn't think he should play a part in any speeches.
  • ootmother2ootmother2 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Answer Name Dropper
    edited December 2011
    noThe norm is FOB toasts to welcome the guests.Best man toasts the marriage.Groom toasts his bride.A couple of times I have seen the MOH.  FOG toasts at the RD
  • trix1223trix1223 member
    5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    OOT-that's your norm. In our circle, I have only once seen a toast by a parent. Virtually every wedding I've been to has only had a toast by BM and/or MOH.