New Jersey
Options

NWR: Private Student Loans

I am in my grace period right now. Payments kick in in Dec. I would love to consolidate with a fixed interest rate. Does anyone know any additional info for me. TIA

Re: NWR: Private Student Loans

• Options
    uppereastgirluppereastgirl member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I would ask your financial aid department for recommendations of companies. Can you actually consolidate private loans at a fixed rate? It is a few years since I graduated, but I thought private loans can be consolidated at a variable rate? Consolidating my gov't loans though -- at least at the time I did -- was the best thing ever. There were times when I was paying 7%+ interest on my private loans, was making 5% APR on my bank account, and my consolidated gov't loans were at like 2.4%.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I have sent in the documents to consolidate my Federal student loans (which are minimum compared to my private loans)I haven't found a bank that consolidates private loans with a fixed interest rate. Just wondering if there was a possibility.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Sorry - the bank I work for doesn't do it. Private loans are terrible - I have one and I swear it'll take me forever just to pay off that one because of the interest rate. I did consolidate two into one with express student loan servicing, but it's not much better.
  • Options
    alliecarrie41alliecarrie41 member
    First Anniversary First Comment Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    i consolidated all my loands through sallie mae when i graduated and was lucky enough to lock in 2.5% for all. 
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Allie- were your loans Federal or Private?
  • Options
    Denise91980Denise91980 member
    First Comment Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011