African American Weddings

DIY Projects?

I want to first say that you ladies are very talented and if I tried to do most of these DIY invitations, cake toppers, etc it would look like a 5 year old did it. 

After lurking on the DIY board I'm curious to ask you all when do you decide to take on a DIY project or just go out and buy it?

I understand saving money is the #1 reason but I'm very curious to know how do the most talented DIY knotties determine if their time is worth the money saved?

For example, my coworker who just got married regrets DIY invitations because she said by the time she was done they didn't save that much and she was stressed out.

What are your thoughts? 

Wedding date July 7, 2012

Re: DIY Projects?

• Staceymp2010Staceymp2010 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Hello I feel the same way as you. I'm not good at all with that type of stuff. I tried to do some craft one Christmas and it is still in a box half way done and that was like 2 years ago my FI is like every year want me to get the box out again. LOL I would rather just pay someone else to do it, I'll get all the supplies they need.
  • edited December 2011
    I'm honestly not saving THAT much money DIY'ing when you factor in time. I honestly enjoy doing it and have found that I'm more appreciative of the things I create. They mean a little more to me...

ETA: I've saved HUNDREDS no doubt... but it's taken hours of my time. 

Speaking of which.. I'm about 75% done with the runner!

Wedding Countdown Ticker
    130 image Are on the way! The rest don't matter... FINAL COUNT~!
  • Staceymp2010Staceymp2010 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    @ soon2BSand very pretty.
  • edited December 2011