Massachusetts-Boston

Hair/makeup trial

Just wondering if people normally had their hair and makeup trial before they booked a person, or waited until closer to their wedding? I'm getting married in May, so want to get someone booked, but I'm not positive what I want to do with my hair yet, and I'm a little worried the stylist won't remember how she originally did it if I do the trial soon. What did others do?

Re: Hair/makeup trial

• edited December 2011
    I had my hair & makeup trial before booking them.  I wanted to be really sure that I liked it before booking them, since I've had pro hair & makeup before that didn't turn out great.  I went with Special Event Beauty and they are very flexible.  Trials are expensive so if you want more than one, you can obviously pay for it.  But if you decide you want to change your updo from your trial, you can just tell them that on the day of the wedding and they'll change it for you.  No need to have a bunch of trials unless you want to.They also made notes about me in their notebook about how they did my hair, the makeup products used, and the look I"m going for.  I guess that makes it a lot easier to remember for the wedding day.Good Luck!
    10.10.10 Bride! Our Bio Updated 9/26
    image 129 Are ready to party! image 29 Party Poopers!
  • desistoldesistol member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I had mine after booking since I'm using my regular salon.
  • edited December 2011
    I booked my hair stylist and make up artist before doing a trial.  I'm getting married on a Saturday in June, so I wanted to book early before everyone good was taken, but I'm not sure what I really want yet and I don't care enough to shop around and do several trials with different people.  I read a lot of good reviews for both of them (and actually my make up artist recommended my hair stylist), so I felt comfortable with it.
  • terrax82terrax82 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011