Moms and Maids
Options

ADVICE -- How do I talk to my Mother about this?

Hi Moms.  Maybe you can give me some advice.  I have been engaged for just about 2 months, and am getting married in July 2010.  I'm basically just starting to get really thick into planning everything.  On top of that, my brother, his wife, and their two kids just moved to within an hour of my parents.  My mom is constantly inviting my SIL to do things with us (SIL and I aren't really friends, but we're civil), and is constantly going over to SIL's house.  Also, my brother and SIL are around almost every weekend staying with my parents (I'm a college student and am going to school in my hometown, so I live in a room at my parents house to save money).  All that to say...I feel like I am the new daughter in law, and my SIL is now the daughter.  My mother hasn't even asked me how the wedding planning is going.  She knows we've gotten our e-pics done but hasn't asked to see them.  But yet, she's always talking about SIL.  I'm too hurt to even mention this to my mom, because I know she'll just call me selfish for wanting the attention.  What do I do?  I want my mom to be MY MOM!  And I want her to be excited for me.  Any ideas?

Re: ADVICE -- How do I talk to my Mother about this?

• Options
    dianenjnjdianenjnj member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    i'd say tell her what you're telling us here.  find time to be alone with her...maybe go to lunch together or whatever, but do talk to her.  she's probably caught up with the grandkids and the newness of having them close...but you have to be honest and tell her exactly how you feel.
  • Options
    ootmother2ootmother2 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Answer Name Dropper
    edited December 2011