Connecticut

Just need to vent...

Just bummed and need to vent....

So I'm a poor graduate student...in a doctoral program...so even though I'm in my 3rd year, there's no paycheck in sight.
FI works full time but doesn't make enough to support the 2 of us. 
Once we got engaged, I moved in with him and his father "temporarily."  Otherwise, we would have been doing the 2 hour commute and it just made more sense for me to be up there for school/internships/etc.

He's been trying like crazy to change jobs so we can afford our own apartment. His boss just denied him the opportunity to post out and apply for something that looked really promising.  So now I'm deflated and frustrated. 

I hate living with his father but I'm also not in a position to complain. I'm thankful for a place to stay but this summer will mark the 2 year point of living there.  I think, more than anything, I'm freaking out at the idea of being a married couple and living there....

Re: Just need to vent...

• SuMmErKuTiESuMmErKuTiE member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I'm sorry this is happening. Was there an explanation from his boss as to why he didn't want him to post for the new position? When you take a job, your main goal is always to move up in the company and most employers want their employees to have that ambition... Maybe it's time for your FI to start thinking about a new job, not just a new position, but a new job outside of where he works now since his boss is discouraging him.