Snarky Brides

Not Invite the Grandparents

I'm a newbie on here, so forgive me if I'm in the wrong section.
I just need to vent and get some perspective, perhaps.
My grandparents on my dad's side are grouchy generally.
I'm spending about $5000 on our wedding total out of my own pocket and my grandparents asked how much I was spending and then practically exploded after hearing.  They said that there's nothing to celebrate & spend that kind of money on since my fiance and I have been living together already.  Then proceeded to dictate how that money could be spent on my mortgage payments (which are fairly low), and how the drive to the wedding was too far.  It's a 4 hour drive and they take roadtrips across the country pretty often.
I told them it sounded like it was a hassle for them to bother with, and to consider not coming then. 
The rest of my family is great, but I think my grandparents are beyond rude and incredibly hurtful now.
Am I wrong?

Re: Not Invite the Grandparents

• You still have to invite them.
  • Invite them and let them make the decision to come and support you or to stay at home and be bastards.
    murrayed
  • Mrs.B6302007Mrs.B6302007 member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary First Comment Combo Breaker
    edited March 2010
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_snarky-brides_not-invite-grandparents?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:17Discussion:c9d17bcf-94f8-4cd6-a84f-54b7a662da33Post:3d1bc278-8070-476a-a3d2-2da0e4d04bbc">Not Invite the Grandparents</a>: