• Images
  • Text
  • Find a Couple + Registry
GO
June 2010 Weddings

Ceremony Music Help!

I have no idea what music to use for our ceremony! The woman at the church who is in charge of all the weddings handed me a HUGE document (about 6 pages) asking all sorts of questions about the ceremony and I have no idea when it comes to the music. Any suggestions where to look? or What you used?

-Becky

Re: Ceremony Music Help!

• Do you know what you're going to do as far as what kind of group you want to have play?  What's your budget for the musicians, if you don't mind me asking?
  • We honestly hadn't thought about doing musicians at the ceremony.... Should we consider it?
  • Oooh, no only if you want to!  If it's in a church it could be nice to have the organist play, maybe with a trumpet or something, but I'm biased since I'm a musician!  Smile  So you're thinking to play a cd or something right?
  • Yeah, most likely a CD. Whenever I thought about our wedding ceremony music wasn't something I had thought through....
  • did the church lady tell you what kind of cd-playing capability they have? like, who stands up there and presses play for your different songs? i am having that issue with my venue.

at a church it is nice to have the organist. i also like classical guitar.
  • You gotta pick what's important to you, FI and I are both brass musicians so we splurged for a brass quintet (made up of our former teachers) for the ceremony, and saved other places.  If it's not a priority for you then definitely do a CD!

I'm pretty biased and traditional when it comes to music, so I'd play something classical.  You want to use it to set the mood and to be a reflection of your relationship, so you gotta decide what kind of atmosphere you'd like at your ceremony and go from there.