Registry and Gift Forum
Options

how much?

How much is normal to spend on a wedding gift?  What is your normal budget?  I have 2 weddings I can't go to and am sending a gift, should I spend more because I didn't pay to fly there and for the hotel?  Is there a price that you can't go below?  I'm new to this as my friends are just starting to get married but the last wedding I went to I got something in my budget and was told that I was supposed to pay as much as my dinner cost (which I had no idea about, or how much it cost).  Is there a point where the gift becomes rude?

Re: how much?

• Options
    The price range of the gifts we received was huge.  There isn't really a normal amount.  Spend an amount that fits in your budget and which you are comfortable with giving.  Gifts are never required so don't worry about a minimum price point.  If there is a registry, the couple should have registered for gifts in a variety of price points so that there is something within the budget of every guest who decides to shop from the registry.  It is pretty well established that it's disappointing to the couple when they don't receive at least a card with a heartfelt note from a guest who is a close friend, so at minimum give a card even if it is home made.

As for traveling, it depends on whether travel decreases what you're financially able to spend on a wedding gift.  We're able to spend slightly more on a gift for a local wedding just because the cost of travel does eat into our monthly budget and leave less available for a gift.  Others don't let travel have any impact on their gift giving.

There are some areas where most people give monetary gifts for the amount of their dinner (I want to say parts of New York) but that's a very localized norm and is not at all etiquette based.
  • Options