Retro and Vintage Weddings

1950s Glamour Help

Hi Everyone!

I'm an already married that is renewing vows for 10th anniversary. We didn't have a wedding initially so it will be like the first time.

1950's glamour is what I love. Think Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, the Pajama Game and the like. I also want to weave into that the big band theme. I think the two go together well because the 50's was the song and dance era.

I want to go all out with the theme; invites, dresses, hair, reception, band and even the cocktails!

I'm just getting started and would appreciate any help!

Re: 1950s Glamour Help

• OOOOH!! I love it! I'm going late 50s early 60s swanky cocktail party. Sort of Mad Men themed, but by accident, considering I've never seen the show.
    There are a thousand things out there about vintage fashion. I'm picturing bridesmaids in Marilyn's pink dress from Diamonds Are  A Girl's Best Friend. Love it. One favorite source these parts is www.unique-vintage.com.

Anyway, as far as cocktails go, I'm going with some of the classics, we're having an open bar, but I'm putting drink cards in frames on the bar with suggestions, like the Manhattan, the Highball, Gimlets, Tom Collins, Dirty Martini, Old Fashioned, White Russian, etc etc) (By the way, the 1950s were the birth of the cocktail hour. :)) Instead of a limo, we're planning on renting a period car. There are so many great ideas out there and I'm sure the other ladies will have much more to say about it. :)
    image 141 Invited so far!
    image 112 Are ready to party!
    image 29 Will be missing out!
    image 0 Are MIA!

Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I'm going with an Old Hollywood Glam theme, 40's, 50's and 60's inspirations.  I'm using black feathers in the bouquets, big rhinestones in the decor, black and champagne lace, "Sabrina" style dresses for the bridesmaids.  Definately check out the bios from the girls on here, there are some wonderful inspirations!
  • NukkeNukke member