Getting in Shape

Culinary Bride needing to gain some control over diet. Advice?

I'm in culinary school and you have no idea how hard it is to lose weight for your wedding when you prepare gourmet food every day! Help!
In a time when nothing is more certain than change, the commitment of two people to one another has become difficult and rare. Yet, by its scarcity, the beauty and value of this exchange have only been enhanced. ~Robert Sexton

Re: Culinary Bride needing to gain some control over diet. Advice?

• Maybe while you are tasting, count that as part of your meal and eat less?
  • I used to be a professional baker (and I went through culinary school). I know it is  hard to be around good food all the time and not eat! I don't really believe in "dieting" but I do think it's important to make good food choices. Here are a few things that kept me from eating a dozen sticky buns at a time:

1) I am an "intuitive" eater: I eat when I am hungry, and I stop when I am satisfied. In general, I don't eat when I am not hungry, even if the food looks good. I don't have the patience for calorie counting, but I really try to listen to the cues my body sends about what it wants and what is enough.

2) I don't deprive myself of something if I am hungry and it's something I really want to eat. Again, I stop when I am satisfied--and this happens pretty quickly when I am eating a rich food. This means I eat a cookie when I want a damn cookie--but because I don't deny myself, I don't feel the need to eat 7 cookies. (I'll admit that this really takes practice.)