Registry and Gift Forum

Need opinions please & thank you :)

My FI and I have been living together for a year and own a house. To make a long story short, there is nothing that we really need. I can think of a full set fo silverware, but other than that, our house is fully furnished. Items for our hobbies (he plays guitar and I am a photographer) are something that is just too expensive to put on a registry.

My question is, since I will not have any registries, is it rude to tell someone (only if they ask and if they would like to give a gift) that cash or gift cards to certain places would be a good gift for us? I feel like the gift cards are nothing to worry about, but I feel like asking for cash would be a sticky subject? I do not want people going out and buying us things that they think we may need (pots, pans, etc) just to have us return them since we have items like that. I do not want to waste anyone's time or hurt anyone's feelings.

Input of any kind would be great; thanks for reading :)

Re: Need opinions please & thank you :)

• I'd be a bit more coy about it.  "Oh, we're saving for X item at Y store for the living room and just couldn't use another 'thing'."

Of course, that's only if people actually ask.
  • I wouldn't actually say we need cash, but more, "well, we really have everything we need around the house, but we're saving toward doing some home improvements" or whatever your next goal is. 
  • Thanks for the responses. I appreciate it. After thinking about it, adn how my family is, just saying we would prefer money would not set oevr so well. Thanks again!