Nevada-Las Vegas

A Reeeeeeally Dumb Question

So I've been watching the Cashman videos at Manadalay and I'm just wondering when you actually sign the marriage license? Is it not something that's done during the ceremony? And if it's done beforehand, are you legally married before the ceremony? Apologies if this is obvious to everyone else, but I always thought that the signing of the license is what makes it legal.
2 IVFs & 1 FET. Welcome home baby girl!

Re: A Reeeeeeally Dumb Question

• edited December 2011
    I believe it is after the ceremony....
    2011-2012 Races
    10/29/11 LA RockNRoll Min Half (5K) 42:58
    12/4/11 Vegas RockNRoll Half 3:14:53
    1/7/12 WDW Half 3:13:42
    1/15/12 RnR AZ 2:55:27 (PR!!)
    1/29/12 Tinkerbell 1/2 3:22:37 (To many picture stops!lol)
    Me:32 DH:33
    IFV w/ DE Only Option (On Hold For Now)
  • edited December 2011
    When I worked as a wedding coordinator,I am pretty sure all of the brides and grooms signed it after the ceremony.
  • threemarie24threemarie24 member
    Combo Breaker First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    We never signed the actual wedding Cert. Just the witnesses and the paster had to. We got all of the paperwork a few days before hand and only signed that stuff. --and they signed just before the ceremony, since we had time. I have heard of others singing just after. 

I believe you are not actually married until the paster/witnesses sign and send it into the county you are married in. :) 
    imageimage

Congrats to my super sweet BFPB, veronicafvr, She's a SEP '11 momma

Married bio ? follow my boring blog Follow Me on Pinterest

• Sloane99Sloane99 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011

Thanks ladies, that makes sense. So do get any documentation that I would need to change my name and everything?

Since I'm in Canada marriages done in the U.S. are legal/recognized here, but I don't think we have to send anything in. I will check with my province on that one.