Just Engaged and Proposals
Options

Too young for the "perfect" engagement?

So, you only get to do this engagement/wedding thing once, and I really want it to be the way I've always dreamed for the one time I get to do it. However, in all my dreams everyone was nothing but happy and excited for me and my betrothed. I'm a little worried that because we're on the younger side (average age is about 24) and haven't been dating for three years, everyone is going to be a little apprehensive or not treat this wedding like "the real thing".
My boyfriend and I are both 22. We've only been together for 5 moths, but we were absolutely crazy about each other for 3 years before that. (One of us was always dating someone else and we could never seem to get our timing right.) I'm a senior in college and refuse to have a ring on my finger before I have a diploma in my hand so we will have been dating for about 9 months before he actually pops the question. I will be starting med school after next year and won't have time to plan once I do so if we don't get engaed now we really won't be able to get married for the next 7 years. This way, we would have a two year engagement and be 24 when we get married.
 He really is my prince charming, everything I've ever wanted in a life partner. Beliefs on religous ideals, parenting, finances etc. all match up and we get along with each other's families wonderfully.
Am I getting worked up over nothing? Could this still be the experience I've always dreamed off?

Re: Too young for the "perfect" engagement?

• Options
    I think you are focusing a little too much on the theatrical proposal and not enough on what it actually symbolizes.  He's asking you to be his wife.  Who cares if it happens in bed one morning or on a sunset beach?  Don't over think it.