Catholic Weddings

Pre-Cana & birth control

Hi ladies,

I'm new to the Catholic boards, but I'm starting to have some questions so I figured I'd ask y'all - the internet guidelines sort of skirt around this issue as far as I can tell.

I'm concerned about birth control coming up during the preliminary interviews with the priest.  FI and I are both Catholic, we want to get married with a mass, and have discussed children and our thoughts on the whole birth control thing at length.  No surprises there.  Our views do conflict with official dogma.  Will this be a problem in terms of a priest agreeing to marry us?  Honestly we're not comfortable talking about it with priests in general - we feel like our decisions regarding families and sexuality are between the two of us - but we assume it will come up given that accepting children is in the vows.  We know that some priests also disagree with church dogma, but I'm fairly sure that the guy at my home parish tends to be more conservaitve in this regard.

Have any of you ladies encountered this during the interviews, and did your priest give you any trouble with it?  FI and my father both tell me I'm worrying for no reason, but I can't help wondering if this is going to be a roadblock.

Thanks!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Pre-Cana & birth control

• edited December 2011
    I think a priest can refuse to marry you for that reason, but I also think it is unlikely.

Most of the regular posters here can give you a laundry list of reasons that NFP is much better than artificial birth control.  My advice would be to go into your meeting with the priest with an open heart and be willing to learn.

Also, the decision is between you, your FI, and God.
    Anniversary

• catarntinacatarntina member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Depending on your diocese, you may be required to take a class on NFP.