Wedding Cakes & Food Forum

Themed Menus?

My guy is really interested in the menu (and not a whole lot else) but he's kind of stagnating on ideas.

Right now we're thinking about a gourmet comfort food cocktail hour, followed by an international themed buffet dinner featuring several stations.

For the comfort food cocktail hour, we're thinking:
- Mashed potato bar (regular and sweet)
- Sliders (passed by waiters)
- Small grilled cheese and tomato soup shooters (passed by waiters)
- Mac & cheese balls (passed by waiters - fried?)

Any other ideas for comfort foods that can be made gourmet and passed by waiters?  We don't want to do pizza as we're serving pizza as a late night snack.

For dinner, we're struggling to come up with a cohesive menu that features international cuisine.  I studied abroad in China & Spain, he studied abroad in Hungary, and we've traveled together to Costa Rica, Mexico, Austria, Germany, and France (so far).  We also live in Miami, which is big on Cuban food.  So he wants to focus on foods that are part of our history.

Any ideas on how to tie together a buffet with themed international stations?  What stations would you recommend?  Are stations enough, or do the lines get super long with 175 guests? 

Anniversary

Re: Themed Menus?

• tesskerrtesskerr member
    First Anniversary Name Dropper 5 Love Its First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Is there something a little healthier you could have for your "comfot food" maybe, as I am a bit of a health/low fat freak and would feel super full after mashed potato, grilled cheese and mac and cheese!
    For your buffet, you could pick one type of cusine for the "starter" type dishes, eg chinese/asian. Then another type of cusine for the "main" type dishes eg cuban, and then another type for your desserts eg french (macarons yum!) then your late night snacks could be italian, your pizza.