New York-Upstate

Band Vs DJ

I'm beginning to look at DJs and bands in the Albany/ Saratoga region. Does anyone have advice over which is better and/or recommendations of bands or djs??
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Band Vs DJ

• edited December 2011
    To go DJ or Band really seems like a personal taste decision.  We really like a huge variety of music and have little appreciation for cover bands...just our taste.  So we went with a DJ.  My brother had a swing band at his wedding that was awesome.  But all they played was swing music (and played it very well).  It also depends on your venue and the vibe of your wedding.  Bands can get pricey depending on how big of a band you hire.  A good place to scope out your options are wedding shows.  Musicians hand out CDs and info that can help you make a decision.  HTH!
  • edited December 2011
    As a musician myself, I choose DJ.  The reason being, musicians need breaks...when I play a wedding I play 20 minutes on 5-10 minutes off as my instrument is string and I need to let my fingers rest.  I didn't want a break every 20-30 minutes during my wedding. Also, yes you can have a bad DJ, but you can have an even worse band.  There are on days and off days and when they are off, they can be horrid.  Also, a lot of musicians are flakey.  While I have NEVER missed a gig, I know many that have and I did not feel like showing up on my wedding day to find the main singer drank too much the night before and didn't show.  There's some of my arguement for a DJ but if you want a band, just make sure you have a solid contract and you've seen them perfrom a few times. HTH!
  • edited December 2011
    I went back and forth but in the end, we booked a dj for similar reasons as above and cheaper, one mouth to feed, plays any song you want, less breaks...We chose DJ Pianoman and have been very satisfied thus far!
  • edited December 2011