Pennsylvania-Central

Have a friend officiate?

Hi ladies! I'm new to this whole board thing and was pretty excited to see a board just for sharing things in Central Pennsylvania. My fiance and I are getting married in October this year in Cumberland County and would like to have a good friend be our officiant. Do any of you have any clue whether or not this is legal in Pa? I've called the County Clerks' office and they're pretty cryptic about whether or not it's allowed. If any of you have some insight about this, it would be much appreciated! Thanks a bunch!

Re: Have a friend officiate?

• edited December 2011
    i just did this this past september. they will tell you that if your friend is ordained online, it is not legal in the state of pennsylvania. only legally recognized ordainments with active congregations are considered to be pastors, preachers, ministers, etc.

however, there is a way around it. when you go to apply (you can apply in any county you want), you will need to ask for a self-unitying license. instead of having an ordained officiant sign your license... you and your FI will sign it, as well as two witnesses. its claiming that you are "marrying yourselves" in front of two witnesses. you can then have whoever you want run your ceremony.

for us, my cousin performed the ceremony which we wrote then we had him and my H's godmother sign the marriage license.

if you have any other questions you can PM me or email me at steeser03 at yahoo dot com
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • tenofcups4metenofcups4me member
    5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    In 2002, when my ex- and I got married, it was legal and accepted in PA. But there have since been challenges to it and it's really unclear what the status is.