Wedding Hair, Makeup, & Beauty Forums

Pre-Wedding Waxing....I'm not good with pain!

Hi everyone,

Here's the situation:

I'm going for my first ever Brazillian Wax in order to get prepped for my wedding night. However, I'm a total baby and I have a really low pain tolerance. A friend told me to take a couple Advil in advance, but I wanted to try one of those creams that help to numb the area. What I need to know is...do they work for waxing? And which ones are best? Anyone have any experience with these things? I've had people suggest Dr. Numb and No Scream Cream, but nobody has actually tried it first hand. HELP! My appointment is in 2 weeks and I'm terrified of the pain!

IAmPregnant Ticker Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: Pre-Wedding Waxing....I'm not good with pain!

• fallbride1109fallbride1109 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper First Comment
    edited September 2010
    If you search, there are a couple of pretty big threads on the subject.  Most people suggest taking Advil and the No Scream Cream.  Also I think the type of wax that is used can also make a difference.

I got one for my wedding.  And yeah, it hurt.  But it wasn't the end of the world.  I didn't do any of the things suggested here beforehand so that might have made a difference.

ETA:  Here are a couple of past threads on the subject:
    http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_wedding-beauty_advice-brazilian-virgin

http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_wedding-beauty_braving-brazilian?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:358Discussion:7e40cb8d-3a73-4d0d-bf23-00e9288834a5Post:8aa22902-4a0d-4865-91c1-312c336abf1e