Not Engaged Yet

Dad's Blessing?

I'm not sure where to write this, but this board seemed like a good place.

I'm very close to my family and truly am my father's princess. Growing up I always wanted to be just like him. Bf and I have been talking about getting married for about two years now. Not intensive or detailed but very wistfully. He's asked my father for his blessing twice and my dad has said no both times. The first time I understand because we were only dating for a year but this time he didn't want bf interfering with my budding career, as he put it. My dad and my bf get along great and I think this is the first thing they've disagreed on.

I'm just not sure what to do about this. I know this is 2012 but my father means the world to me.  I'm not sure if it would insult my dad if bf proposed without his permision after he's asked him twice. Thoughts or advice?

Re: Dad's Blessing?

• Have you talked to your dad about why he keeps saying no?
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Yeah, I can't really give specific advice without knowing why your dad has said no, but my general thoughts come down to two things.

1.  Your dad probably isn't trying to get in the way of your happiness.  If he's saying no, there's likely a good reason.

2.  It's almost 2013.  As long as you're at least 18, you don't need your dad's permission to get married.  I get that dad's blessing is important to a lot of women, but sometimes you can't have everything.
  • "Screen Name: SingMelody
    SingMelody Age: 26
    Significant Other's Age: 28
    What You Do:  public relations
    What SO Does: developmental software engineer
    State of Relationship: in love!
    How Long You've Been Together: 3years
    How You Met:Our  mutual friends birthday bash
    Wedding Date (if you're engaged/married): no ring so no date
    Real Babies: none
    Fur Babies: none but I want a puppy really bad
    Loves: Hot soup, tea,bf, spring, all animals, babies, and art