September 2012 Weddings

Super Excited Had to Share

So my FI loves Omega Watches, for those of you that do not know what they are think Rolex quality. FI really wants one of the newest ones they came out with and I wanted to surprise him with one as a wedding gift. I am a full time tax accountant and work 65+ hours a week at my full time job during the “season” and run my own tax practice for cash on the side at night and on weekends. I worked super hard this past season to save as much money as I could, FI has no clue what cash I bring home from it so he was unaware I was doing this. Anyway tomorrow I’m taking a trip into Manhattan to pick it up from the boutique. I still can’t believe I was able to purchase this 7K item without him having any clue. Fingers crossed he does not find out between now and the RH dinner when I am going to surprise him with it. I have told only my mother about this to be sure the surprise is not spoiled, so I had to share with you guys! Is anyone else doing something special for their FI?

Re: Super Excited Had to Share

• edited July 2012
    Nope.  Can't say I'd go out and drop 7k on a gift.  Then again, we go more for the sentimental value of the whole getting married thing than anything else.  
  • That's impressive saving!!  Make sure you get that baby covered by insurance right away.
  • $7k?? no, Thats almost a car so I would not spend that much lol.  We've been planning this wedding for 2 years and we are paying for the whole thing so that is our gift to each other.  After the wedding will be time to start house shopping, so that would be a continued present!

• Congratulations on saving so well!  I don't know that I would have had the discipline - since this is something he really wants, I'm sure he'll be shocked and awed by your generosity!