Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum

What would you do about the ring?

I'm totally over thinking this but I can't decide if it better to keep it a sort of surprise or to have him try it on way in advance.

We are getting married on 12/12/12 and both my rings are already in our possession and I've tried them on together to check the size as well as see how they look. I have been paying off my FI for the last 6 months and can go make my final payment as well as pick it up this weekend. My question is should my FI come with to try the ring on in store to check if the resizing was done and fits, should I wait till closer to our wedding to pull the ring out of a drawer and have him try it on or should I just give it to him on our wedding day and hope that the store who sized him (we had other places do it to double check and confirm) and sized the ring did it correctly.

Any way we do it the sizing for life is free and this is his "good ring" so it isn't the one that will be worn everyday even though it is his wedding ring. His everyday work ring he already has and wears as an engagement ring and will still wear every day after we are married. His good ring would be damaged and broken within months if not sooner because of his job.

Did you have your guy try on his ring beforehand to double check the fit before the wedding or did you just wait till day of to help keep it a surprise of how it looks on his hand when it fits?

Re: What would you do about the ring?

• My husband picked and bought his own ring, so he tried it and on and had is sized appropriately before the wedding.

I think it's the best idea for him to try it on and have it the correct size before the wedding.