Wedding Woes

Bride who expects bridesmaids to pay for too much. Help please!

The bride of a wedding that I am in is expecting us bridesmaids to cover all of our expenses - dress ($225), shoes, makeup, accessories, etc.  We are going on a cruise for her bachelorette party/bridal shower b/c that's what she wanted and it is costing each of us over $500.  Furthermore, some of us are traveling from out of town which involves airfare and hotel costs.  She initially told us that her makeup artists would do the bridal party's hair and makeup as well but now she's backing out and saying that there is no time in the schedule/she doesn't have to budget for that.  

The expenses associated w/ this wedding have definitely made a dent in my bank account since I am a full-time grad student and have had absolutely no income for the past year.  I personally cannot afford to get my own hair and makeup done.  I know that it's not required for us bridesmaids to get our hair and makeup but I feel it's the least the bride could do for us considering how much we have already spent towards her wedding I feel it's the least the bride could do for us considering how much we have already spent towards her wedding and since she originally offered it to us.  Am I being unreasonable?  Should I bring this up with her and if so what would be the most diplomatic way of doing so?  Or should I just keep my mouth shut?  Any advice would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks in advance!  

Re: Bride who expects bridesmaids to pay for too much. Help please!

• edited December 2011
    Fran, you need to be honest with her about your lack of funds. I would buy the dress, do my own hair and makeup, and skip the cruise,
  • hmonkeyhmonkey member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper First Comment
    edited December 2011
    here's some life advice:  do not ever keep your mouth shut when someone is trying to spend your money.