Catholic Weddings

New here

Hello ladies. This is my first time here on the board. I am not Catholic, but my FI is. I was raised protestant and was very dedicated to my church fellowship growing up, though I have not attended church regularly for quite a while. We have decided to get married in FI's family church, but to not have a full mass. I don't know much about the Catholic faith, so I have been reading this board today in hopes of learning more. I also had a strange question... When I was born, my mother had a priest come and baptize me. I have been told that because of that I am technically Catholic. Is that true? I am just curious. Thanks.
Image and video hosting by TinyPicImage and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: New here

• If it was a Catholic priest, yes.  Several other sects call their leaders priests (such as episcopalian) but you would not be catholic if they baptized you. If you were baptized by a Catholic priest, then whatever parish he is from should have you in their records for baptisms. 

Contact the priest at the parish you will be marrying in, and you will begin a pre-nuptial investigation, they will give you guidence to find some sort of baptismal certificate. 
  • The priest who baptized me was catholic. My grandmother told me that she has a certificate, but I don't know if that is what you are talking about.
  • How strange -- is your mother or any member of her family Catholic?  I find it odd that one would baptize a baby in a church they didn't follow.

If you were baptized by a Catholic priest, it should be on record at that priest's parish.  You should check with your grandmother and then talk to the priest who is marrying you like Agape suggested.

Welcome to the board!
    Anniversary

• VJones1981VJones1981 member
    First Comment
    edited May 2012
    My mother was raised Catholic, but she passed away when I was young. I was raised by family across the country and they were not Catholic.