Wedding Etiquette Forum

Sticky Family Situation

My Fiance and I just got engaged about three weeks ago, and we've already begun to run into problems.

Some background: I am a recent college grad (he proposed at graduation) and am not working yet, and my family was hard hit by the recession, so they are not able to help with the bigger (read:more expensive) aspects of the wedding. (ie- reception, dj, flowers ect). My fiance's family is well to do and had offered to pay for the bigger price tag items. About 6 months ago, my fiance's father was diagnosed with terminal brain cancer, and with medical bills and whats looking to become an early retirement  looming, they have become increasingly concerned with money. I completely understand their concerns, and offered to hold off on the wedding until my family and I could handle the expenses.

At this point, my fiance voiced his concerns about the uncertainty of his fathers condition, and how he was not comfortable putting the wedding off if it meant there was a possiblity his father would not be here to share with us. I told him that my family and I could not afford it at the time, and he said his parents were willing to pick up the cost if we took some money saving action.

At the time of this conversation, my fiance, his parents and I were in a catering hall, waiting to sign paperwork on the venue, having previously had it oked by his parents. To make concessions to a less expensive wedding, we moved our date from july to april and cut our guest list down from  200 to 160. I thought the price cutting was extensive (95 per plate down to 87 with 40 less guests). We signed the papers and were on our way.