Michigan-Detroit

Cake Tasting Fee??

I am just getting into looking at bakeries but never thought about a cake tasting fee. Ive noticed that some bakeries don't charge them but some do. This could get expensive!! How much did you pay for your cake tasting? Where did you go?

Re: Cake Tasting Fee??

• I only did my "cake tasting" at Just Baked, they gave me 9 cupcakes for free to taste test some of the different flavors. I'd had their stuff before and liked it - I knew I wanted cupcakes at the wedding so it made sense to go with them (plus, CHEAP!)

They typically only do 6 free cupcakes for a tasting, but I liked that they just handed me the cupcakes and I got to take them home. FI and I ended up splitting them into 6ths and letting our familliy and friends taste with us to get a better idea of what everyone liked.

If you're interested in cupcakes at all, I do recommend them. Just send an e-mail to them via their web site and they will set up a place you can pick up the flavor cupcakes you're interested in trying. They have been VERY helpful and kind.
  • edited December 2011
    I tried cakes at Home Bakery and at Josef's and neither one charged me a fee. At Home we got a slice of each type of cake. At Josef's we got 6in decorated cakes of each type. We went with Josef's because the cake was soooo good and was 1/3 the cost of Home. Out of curiosity, what bakeries are you looking at?
  • We did 3 cake tastings and none of them charged

Sweet Nothings in Wyandotte, Sweet Tooth in Allen Park, and Cakes by Stephanie in Monroe (they gave us a huge sampler and then let us order 2 more flavors to try for free!)

I would also like to know what ones charge
    I can't imagine paying more than $5 or so for a few bites of cake
  • None of the bakeries we tested charged a fee, but at the same time it wouldn't surprise me