Wedding Hair, Makeup, & Beauty Forums

Tips for doing your own makeup?

I'm not a pro, but I'm planning on doing my own makeup. Have any tips? What's the most important? I hate foundation, I'll likely use some concealer on my under-eye area and a all over powder, but that's it. I like it light and natural, and I want my freckles to show :) But what do I want to make sure to do? Lips darker than normal? More eyeliner/mascara than normal? TIA!
Photobucket

Re: Tips for doing your own makeup?

• It all depends on how you want to look. Personally Im just going to do my make up how I do it when I go out for a nice evening, but Im the type of girl who wears make up everyday. Just do whatever you are most comfortable with.

p.s. i love false eyelashes and would definatly wear them on my wedding day instead of lots of mascara.
  • I love makeup and plan on doing it myself also.  Blush & mascara are important for pictures.  I love watching makeup application videos on youtube, you may find some good tips/tricks.  My favorite artist is Kim Kardashian's makeup artist: Stephen Moleski.  Kim's look is definitely not natural but I loved his tricks for applying foundation/powder/bronzer. 
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Generally speaking, when you're having photos taken, you should be wearing some type of foundation.  My advice would be to find something very light, like a tinted moisturizer (if you don't have oily skin) or take a trip to Sephora and ask for a light coverage foundation.  If you are heavily freckled, I'd suggest a bit of bronzer as opposed to blush as a peach/pink look on your cheeks would be unnatural. 

Also, it's not about applying the makeup heavier, it's about using the right products to acheive a nice look.  One of my favorite eyeshadows is Urban Decay.  They have a TON of colors and tones to choose from and they are so pretty and really stay.  You can also buy some pretty fool-proof kits from Sephora that contain everything you need.