Moms and Maids

MOH going broke - do I have to get gifts?

My bff is getting married, and I am the MOH.  I didn't really know what I was getting myself into, especially in terms of expenses.  I am a student, and I'm living on loans.  I knew I would have to buy a dress, but I didn't realize how expensive it would be to throw a shower and bachelorette party and that both of these things were my sole responsibility.

My question is, on top of all this, do I also have to get the bride gifts for the shower and the wedding?  I have spent so much on this wedding already.  Please provide some insight!

Re: MOH going broke - do I have to get gifts?

• edited December 2011
    I'm a bride but what my MOH is doing is for the shower she is splitting all cost with my grandam and my mother. And for the bach party she is halfing the hotel room and spa day with my mom and everyone else is paying for their own stuff like nails done massages and stuff. For the shower gift i dont know, but when my sister in law got married to my brother all the bridemaids split the cost of a Waterford Picture Frame for the bride.
    Baby Jaxon born 8/18/2012 @ 9:53am, 7lb 2oz!! At 37 weeks 5 days due to Pre-E via C-section.Baby Birthday Ticker Tickerimageimage
  • edited December 2011
    I'd try to go in on a gift with the rest of the bridesmaids for the shower.  I understand how expensive it can be (been there before).  Have you considered splitting the costs of the shower and bach party with the rest of the bridesmaids?  I don't think its really fair for it to fall on your shoulders alone.  But if you do see if they can help out, just try to find out what they're comfortable contributing before making any definitive plans.  That way you won't be stuck with more than you can afford.